:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Extras:
Profile
Rings

:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

My Long, Lonely Day and Other News
Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2004 at 7:34 p.m.

Yesterday was my day off and I had a Melissa day.

I slept until 10, then dragged myself out of bed and headed up to Asheville to the mall. I was in search of a dress to wear to a wedding this weekend. I was surprised how few stores had any appropriate dresses, but Dillards had a ton. I tried on probably 30 different ones and found one that I loved.

It's black, sleeveless, wide straps, V neck. Under the bust there are three stripes going all around the dress in turquoise satin ribbon. It's a-line, and at the bottom of the skirt you can see black tulle edged in turquoise ribbon peeking out. It's so cute I can't even describe it, and I can't find a picture online.

So then I realized I needed some shoes to match, since pretty much everything I own is flip-flops. So I headed over to Target and picked up these babies for only 17 bucks.

And then I had to pick up a purse. And a necklace. All on sale, of course.

I headed to Barnes and Noble and treated myself to a venti caramel frappacino while I browsed for a good hour without buying anything (a miracle!). I went to the theater I like there and saw a movie alone. Word to the wise: no matter what Trina says (and I love you Trina) Napoleon Dynamite is NOT funny.

So anyway, it was still a nice day. Lonely, but sometimes I just like being alone and drowning in my solitude.

*****

This is the last week of work for Ethel, one of my employees. We threw her a retirement brunch today at work. Everyone brought food, and we chit-chatted and gave gifts and all that good stuff. Ethel showed us all pictures of her grandkids (she will be 2 doors down from them when she moves!) and the blueprints for the house she is having built for her. It will be weird to have her gone. As much as she can make me crazy, she does a lot of good in my department.

I was *supposed* to get the applications for Ethel's position today, but of course, they weren't there by the time I left at 5:30. Hello, this is the DUMBEST system ever. You can't advertise for a position until 2 weeks before the person leaves. OK, so we did that. Only the newspaper published the wrong due date (a week later!) so that pushed us back. And the new employee has to start at the beginning of a pay period, so they won't start until mid-October. The first 2 weeks will be really rough, and I'm hoping that my temp and a sub will be able to help lighten the load a bit.

*****

Anyway...I had best be off of here. I have 2 long hours of guilty TV watching (Girlmore Girls and One Tree Hill).

Until the next chapter...

bite back // scratch away

:PLAYLIST:
Green Day
Tori Amos
Good Charlotte
Papa Roach
Modest Mouse

:I READ:
hilaration
hilarebel
erindipity
jenevere
maikamahi
shutupstupid
ringoffire
arrora
knitnerd