:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Extras:
Profile
Rings

:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

I Have Power!
Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 at 2:29 p.m.

Hurricane Ivan made it's way across Western NC this week.

We lost power about 10:30 pm Thursday. I woke up Friday morning ready to go to work if needed....and my boss called and told me the library would be closed! The library had power and everything, but I guess some of the other county offices were not functional. I coldn't believe it....we were open when there was an inch of ice on the ground.

So anyway...I went back to sleep until about 11:30. yes, I'm a bum. I got up to look around and realized that there was a tree that didn't belong to me lying in my backyard. Well, it's actually lying across a corner of my yard into the yard of the people behind me. Whatever.

I couldn't cook anything, so I got in the car and drove down to the main drag where they had power. Yay! So I had a taco at Taco Bell, then headed to Krispy Kreme for some coffee. I sat in Krispy Kreme for about an hour, nursing my coffee and reading, because let's face it, I had no power at home and no light to read by. :-p There were a lot of downed trees, some on cars. Several roads in the downtown area were closed for downed trees or flooding.

I went home after a bit and headed over to Sharon's house, where Sharon, Sandy, and I ordered pizza and played Trivial Pursuit--book edition by candlelight. Playing Trivial Pursuit usually makes me feel dumb--but this book edition was HARD!!!!!

I left Sharon's at about 9, went home, and called Rob. I tried to sleep and couldn't, since the wind was howling again. I decided to light a few candles and read by flashlight for a bit. of course, that probably wasn't the best idea, considering the only book I had to read was about ghosts. :-p

I got up this morning...still no power. During the night the wind blew over the glass porch table and shattered it, so that should be fun to clean up, considering I don't have any way to get trash to the dump. There are tons of tree branches I have to clean up...I feel very grateful that Rob trimmed some of the dead branches when he was home most recently.

Mom called freaking out because the Lynchburg paper had a picture of the devastation in Edneyville, NC, right down the road from me. I assured her that I was fine and the house was fine.

I went to the library, which was open, to check out a few more books, since I didn't know when the power would be on again. I checked in with my friends at the library, and they all survived pretty well, except for one woman who had a tree fall on her house. :-(

After stocking up on books at the library, I went to Krispy Kreme again for coffee and a fat pill...yum.

When I got home....the power was on!!!! Yay!!!!

All in all, I made out pretty well. there was no damage to the house from trees or wind, and my basement didn't flood. The patch Rob put on the roof held and the ceiling didn't leak.

Just cross your fingers that this next hurricane doesn't get anywhere near us!

bite back // scratch away

:PLAYLIST:
Green Day
Tori Amos
Good Charlotte
Papa Roach
Modest Mouse

:I READ:
hilaration
hilarebel
erindipity
jenevere
maikamahi
shutupstupid
ringoffire
arrora
knitnerd