:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Extras:
Profile
Rings

:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

-
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004 at 9:52 p.m.

The conference yesterday on Being a Good Supervisor was OK. Our's instructor's name was "Vanno." Ok, that was a nickname. He kept referring to himself in the third person, which always gets a giggle from me.

Sharon and I got lost on the way. You would think I could go somewhere less than half an hour away and not be late but NO. I forgot the directions at work, and Sharon and I whinged it. Well, we guessed wrong and drove around downtown Asheville for a bit before we realized we went the wrong direction. So we only ended up being about 10 minutes late, which is fine because I have the feeling they just did stupid introductions and stuff like that.

Lunch at a Cocula down the street, which was good. They didn't have any soft drinks, which was weird. I really could have used a Diet Coke, seeing as how I didn't have coffee that morning and knew there was a looooong afternoon session ahead of me, but the food was very good so I can't really complain.

The afternoon session was more interesting, dealing with conflict resolution and setting and following through with consequences for problem employees. That was probably the most useful part of the conference for me.

Afterwards, we were on the interstate heading back home when some fire trucks forced us into an exit we didn't mean to take. Sharon stopped to get gas because she was low and I realized that a cute little bakery and Bookcrossing Zone I know was in the area.

Of course, I pointed Sharon in the wrong direction, but we finally did end up at the bakery, where we enjoyed some yummy treats and coffee, all made with organic ingredients. We sat and talked for well over an hour, then finally headed home.

And YAY my drugs came in the mail! So today I am sniffle-free and feeling much happier, with no trace of that lingering headache. :-)

*****

As for today....not a whole heck of a lot has been going on.

I finished a great book, called "Simon Said." Sorry, I can't remember the author's name. Sandy handed it to me and told me to read it. It's about a history professor at a small college in Raleigh who helps solve a 50-year-old murder. Pretty interesting mystery, not the hardest to solve, but I always enjoy reading books set in places I am familiar with.

*****

Hurricane Ivan has shifted West again, and now it looks like it will only hit the extreme Western part of NC. Of course, our weather forecast here is lovely....2.5 days of heavy rain with 25-40 mph winds. Joy of joys. So tomorrow afternoon I will make the decision of whether or not I will try to make the seminar in Columbia on Friday. If they won't refund the fee I paid, it's not a huge deal...the library is only out about 40 bucks. But I was really kind of looking forward to learning some new ideas to use for programming and storytime in Children's. :-(

Hopefully I will not have to miss the seminar on Hispanic Programming....that's something I definitely need to attend.

I think I am going to have to find out if the library will pay for me to take Spanish classes. It would really be useful to me, because we have a LOT of Hispanic patrons that have some difficult communicating with a white girl who took French and whose knowledge of Spanish is limited to that of Speedy Gonzales cartoons. :-p Eh, but that's a project for another day.

*****

I should probably get to bed soon....I hate having to get up in the morning. It takes me so long to fall asleep that getting up in the morning is just torture. I can't get comfortable in bed for some reason...maybe I got used to having Rob there again and now I'm subconsciously missing that. But who knows.

*****

Until the next chapter...

bite back // scratch away

:PLAYLIST:
Green Day
Tori Amos
Good Charlotte
Papa Roach
Modest Mouse

:I READ:
hilaration
hilarebel
erindipity
jenevere
maikamahi
shutupstupid
ringoffire
arrora
knitnerd