:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Extras:
Profile
Rings

:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

I Hate Surprises
Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004 at 9:06 a.m.

I hate it when you are halfway through typing an entry and it disappears. Anyway...

I came home from work last night to...no power! There were about 5 guys in my backyard with chainsaws chopping up the fallen tree. Good thing Murat had come to work early and warned me, or I would have been surprised. They also carved up a lot of the bordering trees between my neighbors and I, which were near the power lines. Now I really want a privacy fence, because I have a neighbor who looks like Grizzly Adams. I'm sure he could be a nice man, but I don't want to look at other people's houses. Not to mention they have dogs that bark loudly when they see anyone in my backyard.

So...I waited around reading, taking advantage of the waning light. About 7 I looked outside and realized the men were gone and hadn't turned the power back on. I was OK with that until I realized that I would miss Everwood! Yes, I am addicted to that show. So I called Sharon and she said to come right over.

She fed me (peanut butter and banana sandwich and Oreos, yum!) and we discussed the usual topics of conversation (politics) until the show started. I forgot how much fun it is to watch a great TV show with friends. In college we would gather in one or two rooms and most of the floor would watch shows together, discussing and joking and whatnot. I forgot how much fun that was.

Anyway, luckily when I got home the power was back on. So...let's see how long it stays. I just went grocery shopping again Sunday to replace what I lost over the weekend and I will be super peeved if I lose it all again because they are screwing with my power.

*****

I'm reading some really interesting books lately. Sandy turned me on to them. The author is Daniel Hecht. The first book is "City of Masks" and the second is "Land of Echoes." They are about a parapsychologist who is also an empath. They are really fascinating books, and the descriptions give me the shivers.

I was reading the first one Friday night with no power...that was probably not such a good idea, as I was on the part that described the "ghost." The character started out only seeing the tips of his shoes, like someone was trying to hide from her. Over time he emerged, and she could see the rough fabric of his coat, and finally his bristly face.

I'll quit there in case you want to read it and find out for yourself. :-p

Anyway, I recommend the books. He is supposedly going to write 50 books, one for each state. That's a LOT of writing and you can tell his research is intense, so that may take a while.

*****

Um...not really anything else going on here at the moment!

Until the next chapter...

bite back // scratch away

:PLAYLIST:
Green Day
Tori Amos
Good Charlotte
Papa Roach
Modest Mouse

:I READ:
hilaration
hilarebel
erindipity
jenevere
maikamahi
shutupstupid
ringoffire
arrora
knitnerd